Testimonials and Reviews

"We had a truly wonderful & hospitable experience at this hotel cum homestay in the hills of Darjeeling!!!
Booking was smooth over a couple of emails and room description was accurate.
Location was a major plus point as we had small children so walking to the Mall and market place was a breeze! Trendy restaurants & cafes line up on the road right upto the town centre. Our room was comfortable & spacious for a hill hotel and the service was top notch!!!

Thankyou Snowlion people for a memorable holiday!"

Stayed May 2015, travelled with family
Swati, Bangalore

"I stayed in the hotel from 05 June 2015 to 08 June 2015. The place is neat and clean. It is Maintained by a Tibetan Family and the family members are very courteous….
These people have their own taxis, hence going around was not a problem and a big problem of searching taxis in Darjeeling was eliminated totally.
We all were given a warm farewell by white scarf in true Tibetan style."


ABHI, Jamshedpur

"The hotel is a nice building, fairly spacious but a small bathroom. The staff were good, they arranged a dawn trip to see the sunrise on Tiger Mountain for us.
The location is good being only a short walk from the main shopping areas and sights."

Andrew W.

"I along with my family stayed in Snowlion Homestay from April 18-21,2015.
Rooms are exactly what is posted. Breakfast is prepared by owner's parents and I love Aloo parathas specially.
In clear sky, you can enjoy the view of Mt. Kanchenjunga and we were lucky to spot on April 19, 2015 from room.
In all, rooms are good, clean and well maintained.Morning breakfast are excellent and enjoy watching Mt. Kanchendjunga."

Saurab, Mumbai

"We contacted Mr Gailly over mail in the month of April 2015. It was a sudden decision to visit Darjeeling. He was kind enough to revert on mail though he was travelling in Bhutan. We booked online and he had provided us with a booking confirmation and a pickup from NJP. …..
The Hotel is in walking distance from the Mall road. It takes 5-6 minutes to reach the famous clock tower and the mall crossing. The hotel interiors are superbly maintained with tibetian antiques and pictures depicting the royal family of Bhutan and other pictures from Darjeeling. the rooms were very good. The one thing to note is the cleanliness maintained which is comparable with a luxury hotel."

Arinov

"Hello Gailly.

With a good feeling I look back on my stay and trekking in Darjeeling end oct. 2009. Within a few days my review on my stay in Snow Lion and the trekking will appear on advisor.com. I'll send you the corresponding web adress. In the maintime I wish you and your family a very happy and healthy 2010 where all your business wishes may come true."

Kind regards.
Herman Vercoutter,
Belgium.

"Very good service with hospitality. Front desk service is superb. Service is excellent. Most cooperation. Home away from home. Breakfast is homely and hygiene. When we book the hotel, they will send us a detailed brochure regarding sightseeing and taxi fares. They will arrange taxi for us. Totally I enjoyed the stay."

Ajaya Naik

To my dear friends,family,co-pilgrim,sister,guide,driver,organisator,...all the beautifull people i could meet the last years in India.

Thanks a lot for the friendship,the inspiration, the happiness, the good things i could see that you do for us and our brothers and sisters in India.
Greetings & Best wishes for a very happy New Year 2010.

Jacky Lempens

The rooms here are hotel style but the family welcome is more like homestay and you have fresh breakfast in the family room every day. Very friendly and helpful. Rooms are all spacious - ones at the front have more light but some traffic noise from road outside. Other rooms look out into next door buildings. Make your choice. All super clean with good facilities and lots of hot water etc.
Proper showers! Our room felt slightly damp but it had been raining very hard when we arrived and, talking to other people, it's not unusual in Darjeeling. Lovely roof top views when the cloud lifted. Don't be put off by the slightly shabby exterior; it's much nicer inside.

Stayed October 2015, travelled as a couple.
Papa-Rupe
Central England.

Very nice and cheap. Best rooms and all facilities are available. Best location.

Pradeep Jangra

We stayed for a week in Darjeeling and this place really was a lovely home for us. The hotel is conveniently located near to mall road and just behind municipal council building of darjeeling. The rooms were decorated tastefully and all the basic amenities were available there. The free WiFi was good and they have a parking place too. The staff are really friendly, courteous and helpful and go the extra mile to ensure you are taken care off, thanks guys! The services provided was very much appreciable. The food was excellent. The hotel is truly value for money.
Verdict : If anyone want a wonderful and comfortable stay, then this hotel is highly recommended by me.

Danish Ifti Mallick

I stayed here for two days and had a great experience. Really it's a home stay. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. They prepare hygiene complimentary breakfast in there own kitchen. There is no restaurant. After booking they will send a detailed description broucher for our guidence. Front desk service is amazing. They treat guests as there family members. Hotel decorated with typical Nepali style. Cleanness is looking every where. While check out, they wish good luck to us and honour with a white silk cloth, which is treated a great honour in Nepali tradition.

Really its a great time.
Stayed September 2015, travelled as a couple.
13Ajaya

Really enjoyed our recent stay here. Clean large rooms 5/10mins from main mall. Staff helpful though a little sleepy and did lock my boyfriend out as he returned at 10pm. Easy to organise Tiger Hill tour through, though again we struggled to get out of the hotel at 4.30am due to locked shutters - maybe a system to let early risers know where the key is. Minor points aside we would definitely here again - very relaxing, comfortable break.
Stayed September 2015

Sarah

This hotel is located at 27A, Gandhi Road, Opposite Bethany School, Darjeeling. It is well located With good looks. You can board Taxi or a bus from New Jalpaiguri to reach This hotel. The rooms are very good in looks. It has Cushioned Beds and sofas. Each room has Television, Dressing table and other facilities. The bathrooms are very clean. The food offered is very delicious. The service offered is nice. The staff members are well dressed and are always ready to help. The hotel has good parking facility. The rent of this hotel is within the range of common man. The hotel has good hospitality for the guests. I would advise the readers that if they visit Darjeeling They must visit The Tiger Point, which is very close to this hotel.

Vijay Singh
Jamshedpur. India

The moment we arrived we were taken to our clean, warm room and brought a pot of tea. The homestay was spotlessly clean throughout and the Tibetan family who own it were incredibly friendly and helpful. We were given hot water bottles at night, and a simple, delicious breakfast each morning. It is an easy 5 minute walk to the centre of town. We would recommend Snowlion Homestay to anyone, from backpackers to 5 star hotel guests. You won't be disappointed by staying here...

ntessmannkeys1634 Australia | Group 31-40 | 23rd November 2009

This hotel is an excellent value for money, keeping in mind the tastefully decorated room, room amenities and above all its superb location. The staff was exceptionally nice, helpful and efficient and the breakfast is quite good. We had a truly wonderful & hospitable experience at this hotel cum homestay in the hills of Darjeeling. It was just AWESOME.

Iftikar Mallik

We people were on the trip to Darjeeling. My friend some how managed to book the hotel because we were in a hurry.I think this is a good hotel. Nice location. It is very near to Darjeeling railway station, Bus stand and taxi stand. Darjeeling mall also very near from this hotel. The room was large for two people and they also provided hot water which is quite essential. The room was clean and cosy. The breakfast was good. Very good hospitality. Overall, the stay was very good and is recommended. Hotel rate little bit high. But at the end of the day overall experience was very good.

Saurabh Kumar
Patna. India

We stayed for a week in Darjeeling and this place really was a lovely home for us. Rooms are quite nice and the staff are really friendly and helpful and go the extra mile to ensure you are taken care off, thanks guys! The street is quite, especially in the evening. In the day school children run around and sing in the streets. Breakfasts here are simple and tasty. The rooms can get a bit chilly, but you can rent heaters which is recommended.

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view!

Larksongbird
St. Petersburg, Russia.

hotel is conveinently located near to mall road and just behind municipal council building of darjeeling. food is not served but, good break fast and courtous manager and other staff members always there to help you.
Stayed June 2015, travelled with friends

Dattatray K
Mumbai. India

The rooms were beautiful. Location was easy to access. Rooms were large, neat and also clean. Staff were very supportive and very helpful. Gave blanket, towels and they were very clean. Room heaters were provided. Provided a nice complimentary breakfast. Made us feel like we are with a family. it's small, but excellent.

Rancho M
Coimbatore, India

it was a lovely friendy family hotel, the owners are such lovely people and are very helpful - hotel was really cosy and clean, and great value for money

Paul McTauge
16 November 2009.

The staff are lovely and make you feel at home, when it's cold you get a hot water bottle! We are safely back in Scotland with lots of snow here. Thank you all for such a wonderful stay and hospitality when we were in Darjeeling - it was just perfect.

Sam Chakraverty

Dear Mr. Gailly,
Thanks a lot for your kind effort and cooperation. Now we know why is Snowlion such a wonderful homely place to stay.. your care for people has a clear impact on the warmth of the staff of the hotel... its wonderful to meet people like you in life... thanks for all the help and care.

Sourajit
Stayed: 27th January 2009

We had booked 2 nights in this hotel and it was really nice stay. Decent looking property, like homely stay. Room was spacious and with basic furniture, they could have maintained it better way but anyway, its low budget hotel. Staff was very polite and helpful. Food too was limited variety but delicious. Overall its recommended for low budget travelers.

Rahul Palkar
Mumbai, India

The hotel was in the city and nearby a mall was there and it was very comfortable to locate. The service of the staff was good and friendly. The overall hospitality was very good and cooperative. The atmosphere of the hotel was very peaceful. The room was good, hygienic and spacious with all amenities in good condition. I did not experience food from the hotel. The check-in and check-out procedure was done quickly. They did not arrange any sightseeing trip for me. They have Wi-Fi facility in the hotel which was very good. The hotel stay was value for money and I wish to recommend to others.

Parnav ShahAhemadabad, India

This hotel is an excellent value for money,keeping in mind the tastefully decorated room, room amenities and above all its superb location. The staff was exceptionally nice, helpfull & in a good mood all the time which made it so easy and at home to stay there. Never once did I feel neglected or insecure.
Stayed June 2015, travelled as a couple

Susan

The home stay is well located,close to the main market and the rooms are clean and cosy.the staff is helpful and efficient and the breakfast is quite good.the only downside was the geyser which was not working properly and we could not access the wifi from our room.overall good stay and I would recommend this place to anyone wanting to stay in a comfortable ,homely place.
Stayed June 2015, travelled with family

43Roko43
Dimapur, India

The room was very clean and looks very majestic, authentic Tibetain style. The Television is bit old. Service is up to the mark. Its near to the shopping area. Overall i had a very good stay and had even recommended a friend!!..
Stayed May 2015, travelled as a couple

Vinayak K.Bangalore, India.

I stayed in the hotel from 05Jun2015 to 08Jun2015. The place is neat and clean. It is Maintained by a Tibetan Family and the family members are very courteous. But we missed Mr.Gailey with whom I communicated for the bookings. The hotel needs one or two Official Mobile connections as their land-line does not get connected. The exterior of the hotel needs to be done properly to make it more attractive. These people have their own taxis, hence going around was not a problem and a big problem of searching taxis in Darjeeling was eliminated totally.
We all were given a warm farewell by white scarf in true Tibetan style. If they start their restaurant for the inmates thier business would flourish more.

Abhi JSR

We had a truly wonderful & hospitable experience at this hotel cum homestay in the hills of Darjeeling!!! Booking was smooth over a couple of emails and room description was accurate. Location was a major plus point as we had small children so walking to the Mall and market place was a breeze! Trendy restaurants & cafes line up on the road right upto the town centre. Our room was comfortable & spacious for a hill hotel and the service was top notch!!! Thankyou Snowlion people for a memorable holiday!
Stayed May 2015, travelled with family

Swathigh G
Bengaluru, India

The hotel is a nice building, fairly spacious but a small bathroom. The staff were good, they arranged a dawn trip to see the sunrise on Tiger Mountain for us. The location is good being only a short walk from the main shopping areas and sights. The main problem with the room was that in November it was quite cold and that led to a condensation problem and a general feel of dampness. Not a huge problem but enough to make the bed feel damp.
Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple

Andrew W

I along with my family stayed in Snowlion Homestay from April 18-21,2015. Rooms are exactly what is posted. Breakfast is prepared by owners parents and I love Aloo parathas specially. In clear sky, you can enjoy the view of My. Kanchenjunga and we were lucky to spot on April 19, 2015 from room. In all, rooms are good, clean and well maintained. Morning breakfast are excellent and enjoy watching Mt. Kanchendjunga. They also arrange local sightseeing but is too expensive in comparison with local. Main road to this hotel is quite clumsy but cannot avoid. Local market is at walkable distance and you can enjoy shopping.
I would highly recommend to stay in this Homestay.

Saurabh
Mumbai, India

It has been a delightful stay at the hotel. The people and the staff were excellent with the homely touch, food was acceptable as one can expect away from home. Cleanliness was outstanding; perhaps the grooming of rooms was unbelievable, family too warm to make one feel like being at home. The owner is very enterprising and passionate about his family business, which is this hotel upkeep and recommended for people, families who want a family atmosphere and the delight of soft caring people around.

Deepak Chikkara

Hotel Snow Lion is situated in M.G. Marg which is situated in the heart of city. Hotel is very well, housekeeping is very good and all other facilities are very good. Darjeeling is a very beautiful city and the view of Kanchenjunga mountain is very beautiful.

Kamal Gupta
Jharsuguda, India

We contacted Mr Gailly over mail in the month of April 2015. It was a sudden decision to visit Darjeeling. He was kind enough to revert on mail though he was travelling in Bhutan. We booked online and he had provided us with a booking confirmation and a pickup from NJP. We were picked up from NJP on time. Prenesh was a lovely young driver who drove the xylo withe ease on the hilly tracks and brought us safely to Darjeeling. The Hotel is in walking distance from the Mall road. It takes 5-6 minutes to reach the famous clock tower and the mall crossing. The hotel interiors are superbly maintained with tibetian antiques and pictures depicting the royal family of Bhutan and other pictures from Darjeeling. the rooms were very good. The one thing to note is the cleanliness maintained which is comparable with a luxury hotel.
Sangeeta in the reception area was always helpful with a smile. We were in touch with her from the time of booking as Mr Gailly was touring Bhutan. You will get complementary breakfast in the 3rd floor living room. I have rarely seen such a beautiful living room so well decorated. Please view some of my pictures, Mr and Mrs Gailly was so warm and generous who served us a wonderful morning breakfast. We chatted with Mrs Gailly for a long time who showed us around. You can arrange for sightseeing tours in the personal cars of the family and the drivers are good. We however had booked the sightseeing tours through a friend. Snowlion Homestay does not have an in house restaurant. We knew what to expect so it was not much of a problem. You will have access to Kunga, Dekelling, Keventers, Shangri-La, and Glennary in 10 minutes.
On the last day we saw wonderful view of Kanchenjunga from the terrace of the hotel. I would recommend everyone travelling to Darjeeling to please visit the family hotel at Gandhi Road, Wonderful hotel with caring staff and a wonderful family to oversee things. In house restaurant should not be a factor at all.
I would surely love to stay here again if I visit Darj again. However, did not receive any warm farewell with Tibetian scarfs during exit as read in the other reviews. Perhaps they forgot. But, that is not a thing to mind.
Three Cheers to the wonderful Gailly family. Hope you grow to greater heights in the coming days.

Arinov

The hotel is located in the centre and hence we can walk down to nearby restaurants to eat since they do not have restaurant inside. But the rooms are very good, give nice complimentary breakfast made in the home upstairs itself. Stayed February 2015, travelled with family

drnaan
Chennai, India

I contacted the Snow Lion by internet from outside the country and was dealt with promptly and efficiently. They organised relatively economical pick up from airport making the journey easy after what had been a long flight from the UK. The rooms are beautifully presented. I was there in the Winter and each night I was provided with hot water bottle and well beyond ample bedding - I was extremely comfortable. Although I know I could have got somewhat cheaper taxi/jeep service by going downtown I found it easier to simply work with the people at the Snow Lion especially given that some trips I made meant quite early starts (Tiger Mountain). I also left a personal momento in the room when I left and this was sent on immediately. Breakfast was very good and presented in a homely atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone heading for Darjeeling.
Stayed February 2015, travelled solo

KiwiinIndia,
Llanllawddog, UK

When I traveled for Darjeeling then I stayed in this hotel. Staff behavior is friendly. Room is well maintained neat and clean. All facility is available like TV, AC, geyser, etc. Location is fabulous. View was visible seen from upper roof, but not clear seen from room. They have no personal restaurant and you have to take food from outside on order. Service is quick. It is very clean hotel. Look wise it is nice. Booking and front office is excellent. There are no outdoor and indoor activities available. Darjeeling place is very nice for visit. It is a recommendable hotel for other travellers.

Devraj Bharati
Kolkata, India

Greetings from sunny ( oh and humid too!) Kolkata!
My wife and I just arrived this afternoon form Kalingpong and I was pleasantly surprised to find your mail in my In-box. Thank you sooo much for being such a good samaritan. Would hardly expect many a hotel/ tourist homes to revert and offer to send something back that was carelessly left behind!. You are a true gentleman and your family, wonderful people.
Both of us haven't but been able to stop speaking excitedly about our trip to Darjeeling, the wonderful stay at Snowlion and the great shopping ( not to forget the Shoes!) experiences.
We would most definitely recommend the Snowlion Homestay to all who would remotely lend an ear.... ( by the way the one who stole our heart at your place was indeed Sweety- your family pet!)
My Address is here below with my wife's name as she would be at home to receive the red Shawl which I had presented to her early in our marriage!
Mrs. Arundhati Shatapathy
DA- 184, Sector I, Salt Lake City ,Kolkata - 700064
Warm regards to your parents and the staff at your hotel, Kewal and Sangita in particular.
Warm Regards,

Chandan Shatapathy
Training Manager, Hyatt Regency Kolkata, JA -1, Sector III, Salt Lake, Kolkata - 700098.India

Dear Mr. Gailly,
I wish to thank you for the wonderful hospitality extended to my brother Rahul Gaur during his stay with you. You will not believe that I always wanted to visit Darjeeling but I never had an elder brother. Rahul has advised me to visit Darjeeling during October when the clouds are clear giving a fantastic mountain view. Anyway whenever I plan I will contact you definitely.
Thanks once again.
Best Regards

Pankaj Gaur

Would you recommend: Yes
What did you like: The staff were so welcoming and lovely. We had trouble getting there as there was a strike and our driver go lost. When we rang they directed the driver there and when we pulled in the whole family was waiting on the steps waving! It was such a nice welcome.

Melinda Bannister
7 February 2009

We are now enjoying vacation in kerela after five weeks of social work in kolkata.Your warm welcoming made our first weeks in India memorable.I hope everything is fine with all of you and that Snowlion homestay and Darjeeling is doing great.
Tashi Delek for your hospitality and kindness./p> Sara & Anna
Gothenburg, Sweden
Stayed on 22/11/2006

I stayed at the Snow Lion home stay on 06th and 07th February 2014 during my Zuluk tour. It is located close to the army barracks for acclimatization. The view from my room was superb. The food was healthy and tasted good. The bathroom had continuous hot and cold water supply. There is hardly any hotel in Zuluk and travellers need to stay in home stays. This home stay satisfied my expectations. They served vegetarian as well as non-vegetarian food. They had a collection of Trout fish in tanks. Zuluk is cold in winter. They provided room heater on rent. During power cut in the night, kerosene lamp was provided. The hosts were very helpful and polite.

Pallabh Ghosh

I visited Darjeeling with my wife, and I ataayed there in Snow Lion hotel for two nights. The hotel is very close to gandhi road and Chowrasta is too close to the hotel. One can reach the Chowrasta by walk. We enjoyed the climate as well as the fascilities provided by the hotel. The staff of the hotel are so honest and obedient. Room service is too good. I like to tell the travellers who visit Darjeeeling to stay at this hotel. There would be no better hotel in the town.

Ismail Peerajade

Rooms were large,neat and clean.Staff was supportive and helpful.Blanket,towels provided was clean.Breakfast was good.Rooms were large,neat and clean.Staff was supportive and helpful.Blanket,towels provided was clean.Breakfast was good.It's a small hotel, with excellent rooms, with intercom and 24hours available hot water in the geyser, well private bathrooms and sanitary.In the end they will honour you with a white piece of cloth (with some Tibetan words written on it) around your neck and bid you goodbye as well as 'visit us soon'...its so touching.
Stayed January 2015, travelled with friends

Lal
Kolkata, India

The owners took very good care of us and made us feel like family. I was travelling alone with my 4 year old daughter - and when I got sick one day they took so good care of both of us. The livingroom was nice and cozy and the food was good. The road outside is a little bit noisy - but gets quiet at night. The rooms are nice and I will deff. come back one day! Thank you so much from Saga & Sabine.

Ssaabbiinnee
Copenhagen,Denmark.
Stayed March 2015

I had visited this hotel on my winter vacation .
Nice place to stay in.
Very friendly staff. And well maintained neat n clean rooms.
Very good complimentary breakfast.
Room Heaters available on request.
Above all centrally located..

Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends

Deepak Dulani
Navi Mumbai, India

The stay at the hotel was very pleasant with courteous staff and good complimentary breakfast and clean and spacious rooms. The only drawback was the water heating system which needs to be changed as it gives you half a bucket of hot water and you have to wait for another half an hour in the biting cold to get another half a bucket of hot water. The hotel is located a little uphill and gets a little tiring reaching to the top is you do not have your own transportation.
Stayed December 2014

Colin F.
Delhi, India

Greetings from Switzerland
To the Snowlion people
Thank you for your greetings. Here we have Santaclaus Day. We give presents to the children, Nuts, Apples, Chocolate, Oranges and Sweets. Soon there is Christmas. The weather is bad, rainy and no snow in the mountains, because it is to warm.
Looking forward to next september!

Pietro
12/6/06

The staff is very friendly. The breakfast served is good as well. the rooms are well maintained. Hot water is also served instantly in flasks to room whenever ordered via intercom.Room heaters are also provided optionally at an additional charge of 400 rupees.
Stayed November 2014, travelled with family

sakdgr
Pune, India

Rooms are spacious, and beds are good. The bathrooms are nice, and the whole place feels like you are at home. Some of the rooms have a view, others don't, so make sure to get one that has. Breakfast is good, and is set in a very cozy living room. Staff is helpful and friendly, but their taxi services seems a bit overpriced. At least we found something way cheaper just by walking out on the street and finding a taxi for ourselves. Close to town centre, but in a calm environment
Stayed November 2014, travelled with friends

Stig Schmidt
Gaupne, Norway

good mountain view neat n clean room with 24 hr hot water and most importantly ever willing helping attitude of staff makes snow lion a wonderful place to stay. will remain grateful for arranging food for my 6 yr old son even at 11 pm. will always remember their warm traditional farewell.

drdevid
Guwahati, India

The rooms were very tidy, well decorated, neat n clean, well lit, with intercom and 24hours available hot water in the geyser, well private bathrooms and sanitary...there is a library cum waiting room. The hotel boys help a lot. They are so polite that at times you can't hear what are they saying..they serve you the breakfast but however lunch and dinner is not available yet. You can get room heaters as well as hit water bags whenever you want. They will clean your rooms whenever you want. In the end they will honour you with a white piece of cloth (with some Tibetan words written on it) around your neck and bid you goodbye as well as 'visit us soon'...its so touching.
Stayed October 2014, travelled with family

Sayan S
India

We arrived after a long journey and they whisked our bags direct to the rooms. The rooms were large and I had hot water. The rooms were clean and comfy.We were leaving early the next day and they made us a packed breakfast of toast and eggs to take with us! Awesome.The front desk were friendly and helpful.Could not ask for more. Defo worth a stay. Neat to eating places such as a The Park, Lunar and Kungas.
Stayed September 2014, travelled with family

Taz Harrow
Harrow

We visited Snow Lion Homestay in June, 2014 as a couple on our trip to Gangtok & Pelling. Its location is superb, just right in the middle of city center from where you can have a 5 minutes walk to busy Gandhi road. Run by a very caring Tibetian family, they don't have a restaurant inside but when you are surrounded by a variety of restaurants all around you, it hardly matters. The room service is quick and efficient and they really listen to their guests. Me & My wife had a little accident with some crazy bikers just in front of this homestay & the owner lady was very caring all through it. She even offered the basic first-aid & ice packs to control the leg swelling. We stayed here for 2 nights and they showed the concern every time they saw us asking how is she feeling now. Being all alone in the city for first time, I could not expect more from them. And don't forget the yummy breakfast they offer for guests. Those paranthas they made for us was the best food i ate all through my trip of 8 days. I could not thank you more for the care and hospitality they gave to us while in case of emergency situation. I truly feel that we checked-in as guests but left as friends. I would say people don't go for outer appearance, look deep and you will find a jewel inside in the name of this home stay. I highly recommend this family home stay for those who wish to feel a real home experience away from home right in the middle of Darjeeling. if you are not a luxury traveler and give more importance to the location, comfort and personalized service - this home stay is for you! Every time i will go back to Darjeeling I know, I dont have to look anywhere else other than Snow Lion Homestay. Thank you, the lovely ladies of Snowlion - you are the only reason why i would love to come back to Darjeeling someday.
Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple

TravelGenesagraAgra,India

It has been a delightful stay at the hotel. The people and the staff were excellent with the homely touch, food was acceptable as one can expect away from home. Cleanliness was outstanding, perhaps the grooming of rooms was unbelievable, family too warm to make one feel like being at home. The owner is very enterprising and passionate about his family business, which is this hotel upkeep and recommended for people, families who want an family atmosphere and the delight of soft caring people around.
Transportation is a perennial problem in this part of india, with no clarity on prices etc and for people with budget must clarify prior boarding or hiring cabs, as there may be exorbitant prices creating a big hole in your financial plans. Do ample survey and hire cabs from outside. Over all the stay was very good and is recommended.
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family

Prateek J

Although this place is called a homestay, its just like any other hotel you would go. I visited Darjeeling in May 2014.
This is run by a Tibetan family and I must say the decor and cleanliness if first rate. We, were not lucky to get a room with a view, but nevertheless we enjoyed every bit here. So, if you ever book a room, ask for rooms with a view.The staff is very helpful. Since, I booked my stay online, the breakfast was free. This is provided on the 3rd floor between 8am - 10 am. You can get a good view of the mountains here and not to forget the great antique collection of the family that is kept in the dining room.
This place is around 10 mins by can from the Darjeeling station. Also, the taxi stand(club side taxi stand as it is popularly called) is just a 5 min walk from this homestay. Chowrasta, Chauk Bazar is easily accessible with a walking distance of 10 -15 mins.
They accept payments in various cards, and this was another plus points, coz ATMs in Darjeeling always have long queues.
Cons:
- No lunch and dinner served, but restaurants are all over the place and normally close by 9pm.
- Rather than booking your sight seeing trips thru them, I would suggest to go to the club side taxi stand for all your sight seeing bookings, coz you can bargain with the drivers out there.
Overall , complete value for money and highly recommended,

Vanessa Marcus
Mumbai, India

Very nice stay. It is not a hotel, but a home stay. A Tibetan family runs it.
It is very clean. Towels and bed sheets are also very clean.No restaurant in the home stay. Family serves breakfast on the 3rd floor from 8-10 AM. In case you need food for lunch/dinner they bring it from outside. You can get only toasted bread with butter and jam, and tea from the family kitchen. Note: Shortage of staff to bring food from outside.400 meters from away the mall on a flat road.
Check your bills twice, as single occupancy is 10% discounted. I have seen the bill is not deducted this amount...On request they have corrected it.

Somnath De
Stayed May 2014, travelled with family from Kolkata, India

I stayed at Snowlion Homestay for 5 nights in the beginning of April & really enjoyed the time a lot. Everything worked out really well - from the booking via email, to the airport Pick-up & the organization of several trips during my stay. Everybody is extremely friendly & welcoming. I especially enjoyed the location as it is just a little bit of the main strip (3min walk) and therefore much quieter than other places. Rooms are really large and comfortable. all up: good value for your money & really sweet staff.
Stayed April 2014, travelled solo

Katja P
Munich, Germany

Nice, tastefully done interiors at a convenient location. Staff is courteous and polite. The hotel being run by a family, you will feel you are their valued guest.However service response time needs to improve.
Room Tip: Take room on 1st or 2nd floor front
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple

Somak S
Kolkata, India

Snow Lion located at Gandhi Road - just 2 minutes walk from Keventars. Also thereis a stairs where we can go down to Down side market , rink mall etc. It is a family run hotel with an wonderful hospitality. Calm , peacefull , and well behaved staff. Mostly you will fnd a foreigner visit at this place. Breakfast is complementary here. Breakfast room is well decorated. Owner lday was very motherly - food was also very tasty. We used to have nice chat over breakfast with the lady and other foreigner guest. We can also see the view from this place.

There is no kitchen facility at this property but that wont be a problem since they will manage the order from Shangrila. Staff are very flexible and they arrange food , cook for my 7 years old daughter. Bed tea is also available on request. Overall it is an wonderfull property and I had a 4 night wonderfull stay over there. This was my 7th visit in Darjeeling and I know almost everything in darjeeling. This was my first visit to this hotel and I would love to stay here.
Stayed April 2014, travelled with family

Subrata
Kolkata, India

This lovely place is conveniently located in central Darjeeling and within easy proximity to the Chowrasta,numerous restaurants and cafes, gift shops and to the fancy of many happy children...pony rides around the hill behind the Mall! The room was big with a comfortable bed and very clean. All amenities expected of a good hotel were available with free WiFi:))
Everyone was always smiling, doing their jobs diligently without any interference to the guests around and wife & myself felt very comfortable there. None of the big stares & difficult attitude of the staff which we encountered in some hotels in India.
All in all..perfect all around!!!
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple

Simon
Paro, Bhutan

We were met by Snow Lion's Taxi Driver at Newjalpaiguri from a train which was 21 hours late! We were very grateful for his patience and for the welcome we received when we finally arrived in Darjeeling. The Homestay is a good place to be; it is very central and the staff are accommodating.
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple

Brian
Dorchester, United Kingdom

It’s a small & cute place run by a Tibetan family. It is not a hotel. It's a Tibetan family's house which is converted into a small B&B. So don't expect resort level luxury. What you will get is a warm welcome and a very cozy place to stay. And definitely interesting experience.
The rooms are fairly clean and ok size (bed, small lounge chairs, coffee tables, wardrobe) with a small bathroom. There is a generator in case of power outage (and it happens a lot - in Darjeeling) The heater & hot water does not work when the power is out so you'll need to plan your showering carefully. We stayed in March but it was freezing cold. The staff gave us hot water bottles in the evening so that helped a little but either way I was cold! You can also rent a room heater for 200 rupees a night.

Location: Very convenient. Close to a lot of restaurants and shops.
Customer service: Very helpful and polite staff.
Restaurant: There is a room service but it is organized offsite. Good food, pretty reasonable.
Room: Small & cute but quite cold – need lots of warm clothing if you are coming in winter/spring.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and their hospitality.
Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple

Peko
Sydney, Australia

I stayed in the hotel from 05 June 2015 to 08 June 2015. The place is neat and clean. It is Maintained by a Tibetan Family and the family members are very courteous….

These people have their own taxis, hence going around was not a problem and a big problem of searching taxis in Darjeeling was eliminated totally.


We all were given a warm farewell by white scarf in true Tibetan style.
ABHI, Jamshedpur


We had a truly wonderful & hospitable experience at this hotel cum homestay in the hills of Darjeeling!!!
Booking was smooth over a couple of emails and room description was accurate.
Location was a major plus point as we had small children so walking to the Mall and market place was a breeze! Trendy restaurants & cafes line up on the road right upto the town centre. Our room was comfortable & spacious for a hill hotel and the service was top notch!!!

Thankyou Snowlion people for a memorable holiday!

Stayed May 2015, travelled with family
Swati, Bangalore


The hotel is a nice building, fairly spacious but a small bathroom. The staff were good, they arranged a dawn trip to see the sunrise on Tiger Mountain for us. The location is good being only a short walk from the main shopping areas and sights.


Andrew W.


I along with my family stayed in Snowlion Homestay from April 18-21,2015.


Rooms are exactly what is posted. Breakfast is prepared by owner's parents and I love Aloo parathas specially. In clear sky, you can enjoy the view of Mt. Kanchenjunga and we were lucky to spot on April 19, 2015 from room.


In all, rooms are good, clean and well maintained.

Morning breakfast are excellent and enjoy watching Mt. Kanchendjunga.


Saurab, Mumbai


We contacted Mr Gailly over mail in the month of April 2015. It was a sudden decision to visit Darjeeling.

He was kind enough to revert on mail though he was travelling in Bhutan. We booked online and he had provided us with a booking confirmation and a pickup from NJP. …..

The Hotel is in walking distance from the Mall road. It takes 5-6 minutes to reach the famous clock tower and the mall crossing. The hotel interiors are superbly maintained with tibetian antiques and pictures depicting the royal family of Bhutan and other pictures from Darjeeling. the rooms were very good.

The one thing to note is the cleanliness maintained which is comparable with a luxury hotel.


Arinov


The hotel is located in the centre and hence we can walk down to nearby restaurants to eat since they do not have restaurant inside.

But the rooms are very good, give nice complimentary breakfast made in the home upstairs itself.

Stayed February 2015, travelled with family


Dr Naan, chennai


I contacted the Snow Lion by internet from outside the country and was dealt with promptly and efficiently.

They organised relatively economical pick up from airport making the journey easy after what had been a long flight from the UK. The rooms are beautifully presented.

I was there in the Winter and each night I was provided with hot water bottle and well beyond ample bedding - I was extremely comfortable. Although I know I could have got somewhat cheaper taxi/jeep service by going downtown I found it easier to simply work with the people at the Snow Lion especially given that some trips I made meant quite early starts (Tiger Mountain). I also left a personal momento in the room when I left and this was sent on immediately. Breakfast was very good and presented in a homely atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone heading for Darjeeling.


Llan UK


Rooms were large,neat and clean.Staff was supportive and helpful.

Blanket,towels provided was clean. Breakfast was good. Rooms were large,neat and clean.Staff was supportive and helpful.Blanket,towels provided was clean.Breakfast was good.

It's a small hotel, with excellent rooms, with intercom and 24hours available hot water in the geyser, well private bathrooms and sanitary.

In the end they will honour you with a white piece of cloth (with some Tibetan words written on it) around your neck and bid you goodbye as well as 'visit us soon'...its so touching.


Laltu, Kolkata


The owners took very good care of us and made us feel like family. I was travelling alone with my 4 year old daughter - and when I got sick one day they took so good care of both of us.

The livingroom was nice and cozy and the food was good. The road outside is a little bit noisy - but gets quiet at night. The rooms are nice and I will deff. come back one day!


Thank you so much from Saga & Sabine, Copenhagen,Denmark


Rooms were large,neat and clean. Staff was supportive and helpful. Blanket,towels provided was clean. Breakfast was good. Mt. Kanchenjunga was visible from some rooms.Location is easy to access. Room heaters were provided. Location is good.


Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends
Piyush, Chittaranjan


It's a small hotel, with excellent rooms, the best thing about it being pet friendly.

It is located just besides the main road and very close to the main market. The staff is polite and courteous. The hotel rooms are not very heavily priced and hence affordable. The market is hardly 6-7 minutes walking distance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Sonal Sood


I had visited this hotel on my winter vacation.

Nice place to stay in.

Very friendly staff. And well maintained neat n clean rooms.

Very good complimentary breakfast.

Room Heaters available on request.

Above all centrally located...


Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends
Deepak Dulani, Navi Mumbai


The staff is very friendly. The breakfast served is good as well. The rooms are well maintained.

Hot water is also served instantly in flasks to room whenever ordered via intercom. Room heaters are also provided optionally at an additional charge of 400 rupees.


SAK, Pune


The rooms were very tidy, well decorated, neat n clean, well lit, with intercom and 24hours available hot water in the geyser, well private bathrooms and sanitary...there is a library cum waiting room.

The hotel boys help a lot. They are so polite that at times you can't hear what are they saying..they serve you the breakfast but however lunch and dinner is not available yet.

You can get room heaters as well as hit water bags whenever you want. They will clean your rooms whenever you want. In the end they will honour you with a white piece of cloth (with some Tibetan words written on it) around your neck and bid you goodbye as well as 'visit us soon'...its so touching.


Sayan S.


We arrived after a long journey and they whisked our bags direct to the rooms. The rooms were large and I had hot water. The rooms were clean and comfy. We were leaving early the next day and they made us a packed breakfast of toast and eggs to take with us!

Awesome.

The front desk were friendly and helpful.

Could not ask for more. Defo worth a stay.


Taz, Harrow


Snow lion was a great, affordable stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were a bit damp during monsoon season but otherwise fine. They did not have much information on the city, but the location is perfect for getting around Darjeeling! Nice stay.


NB shew


It has been a delightful stay at the hotel.

The people and the staff were excellent with the homely touch, food was acceptable as one can expect away from home. Cleanliness was outstanding, perhaps the grooming of rooms was unbelievable, family too warm to make one feel like being at home. The owner is very enterprising and passionate about his family business, which is this hotel upkeep and recommended for people, families who want an family atmosphere and the delight of soft caring people around…..


Prateek